South Dakota
Retirement System
Proudly Serving South Dakota's Public Employees Since 1974


Upcoming Board Election

The South Dakota Retirement System Board of Trustees is the governing authority of SDRS. The Board consists of 14 elected representatives from participating groups, two appointees of the governor, and an ex-officio non-voting representative of the South Dakota Investment Council. Elections for representatives to the Board are held each spring. The representatives' terms begin July 1 and are four years in length. If you have any questions, please contact the SDRS office at 1-888-605-SDRS (7377).

The membership groups up for election in the 2023 election cycle are as follows:

Year Groups



Elected Municipal Officials
Municipal Employees
County Commissioners
Justices, Judges, and Magistrate Judges