South Dakota
Retirement System
Proudly Serving South Dakota's Public Employees Since 1974


Participation & Eligibility


If you are a permanent, full-time employee of an SDRS participating employer, you are required to participate and make contributions to the South Dakota Retirement System. Permanent, full-time employees are those working at least 20 hours per week and six months per year. Participation in the South Dakota Retirement System begins on the day of your first contribution.



Class A members include all state administrative employees, teachers, general employees of participating municipalities, employees of participating counties, classified employees of participating school districts, and employees of the Board of Regents. All elected officers (except justices and judges) may participate.

                Class A Generational Member Handbook

Class B Public Safety members include state law enforcement officers, municipal police officers, municipal firefighters, county sheriffs, deputy county sheriffs, penitentiary correctional staff, parole agents, air rescue firefighters, campus security officers, court services officers, conservation officers, and park rangers.

                Class B Public Safety Generational Member Handbook

Class B Judicial employees include members who are justices, judges, and magistrate judges.

                Class B Judicial Generational Member Handbook

The following are excluded from membership in SDRS: All personnel in the Department of Labor who were employed before July 1, 1980, and who elected to remain participants in the former plan, and the governing body of any participating county, municipality, or other political subdivision.